Junk food advertising has a harmful effect on society and should be banned. To what extend do you agree or disagree.

Modern-day technology has brought about a diverse spread of marketing different products, one of which is junk food. Most people protest the banning of junk food advertisements and I firmly agree. I would discuss the reasons in this essay. Firstly, by the name in itself, junk food is quite unhealthy and the majority of the target population of this product is children. Young people mostly go for sweet and salty food and pay less attention to vegetables and fruits. Additionally, junk food appears more appealing as compared with boiled broccoli, for example. To give a clearer picture, kids would almost always choose a chocolate bar o bag of chips to snack on while enjoying their favourite television show. Secondly, as I have previously mentioned, advertisements have a wide reach audience and we have the technology to thank for that; from our phones to televisions to radios to newspapers and magazines, product endorsements have never been easier. When left unsupervised, a child’s screen time will eventually lead him or her to advertisements for unhealthy food. For example, a kid might see his or her favourite artist say they endorse a certain junk food and claim that it’s healthy somehow but once you check the package label, you’ll see no beneficial ingredient included. Lastly, an excess of anything tends to be harmful to the body. This idea or statement should be made clear to all of the consumers of any products, especially those that don't give anything substantial to the body. For instance, the packaging of cigarettes displaYs a foul image of the disease that can be caught with the use of the products. This will help the product owner in being free of liability in case someone complains of catching an illness. In conclusion, banning junk food commercials should be made so to lessen harmful products from being put on market shelves and to develop a healthier lifestyle for everyone.