Some people believe children must have extracurricular activities, while others think children need to have more rest after school. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Nowadays, the majority of children are doing different activities outside of their normal educational curriculum. While some people think that doing these types of activities is a must, others hold the belief that children should spend their leisure time for relaxation after school. Despite the benefits of resting, I believe that extra activities play a crucial role in children ’s physical and mental development. Doing extracurricular activities is frequently associated with the intelligence and effective cognitive development of a child. From an early age, as a rule, children are encouraged to spend their time efficiently as it is the best period to gain knowledge and experience, so this time cannot be wasted. Clearly, the young can learn more efficiently than the old because of their mental abilities at that age. Therefore, it would be only favourable if they spend their time doing supplementary activities such as learning a foreign language or taking part in sports training. Unless children use their time wisely, they will not achieve great results in the future. Not everyone believes that extracurricular activities are as beneficial as having a rest after school, however. In fact, these days’ children are required to do an enormous number of tasks at school, so they often feel stressed. Korean children, for instance, do have not any free time to do recreational activities, since they are often forced to participate in extra classes or sports training after school. This has a lasting detrimental impact on their psychology as a result of extra pressure. Extracurricular activities should be optional for children, otherwise they will suffer from the extra burdens which have a negative impact on their health. To conclude, while relaxing after school is helpful and is often thought to be advantageous for children, arguments supporting the significance of after- school school activities are more rational. In my view, extracurricular activities are desirable as long as they help the children to improve their general knowledge and to be active.