It is expected that there will be a higher proportion of older people than young people in many countries in the future. Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

There has been an observable growth in the human population in the past century but recent events have changed the perspective of numerous young adults resulting in an imbalanced proportion of older folks than the young. And this has been projected in many countries worldwide in the coming future, which I believe is a positive development. Firstly, one possible explanation for the future decrease in the younger community is that teenagers nowadays view having children as a huge responsibility they cannot fully commit to. Hence, there is a generational breakage of reproducing more and more without thinking of the consequences of having children namely the quality of life and education. Moreover, speaking as one of the younger generations, the economy is quite difficult to adapt to especially with global crises happening. For example, younger people now would often choose pets over contributing another statistic to the population. Furthermore, young adults have more time for themselves and heal the inner child within them. When they grow to become more responsible people, they will not pass on the same trauma they experienced as toddlers. For example, my older cousins choose to have about two or three dogs in lieu of a child and the reason behind this is that they say that it's cheaper because they would not have to pay for the schooling of these animals that they treat as their offspring. Finally, addressing the issue of population growth, we'll see fewer children on the streets if today's teens, prefer not to reproduce. There will also be a decrease in infants in adoption homes, this is mainly because young people are choosing to be more careful when it comes to reproduction. For example, when asked about having heirs, my colleagues would often say they would prefer to have a family with a child when they are beyond their thirties and would like to only have one or two babies instead of three or more. In conclusion, a future with a larger proportion of older persons is a positive development because we have a more stable well-being and productive group of adults. We would also have addressed the issue of the growing populace with this development.