Special programs for social integration and help are better alternatives than harsher prison sentences for minor crimes. Do you support or oppose this opinion? Explain your position.

Many people believe that those who commit minor crimes should receive help to rehabilitate their social status through particular programs instead of being locked in prison. I completely agree with the statement because I know that there could be many other ways to help those people become better citizens again. To begin with, we should say that there are many reasons for breaking the law. Some individuals do infractions in order to satisfy their primal needs. For instance, if a person steals a piece of bread to eat, he should not be punished for that. Instead, governments should give them the possibility to work in an old age home to serve other people and eventually earn money for themselves. Moreover, it would be also a good thing to arrange seminars or support groups for those people. As a result, they may understand the consequences of their actions and avoid repeating them in the future. Otherwise, giving hard punishment to those people who committed minor crimes could resolve in them becoming part of a gang and, consequently, they will make major crimes like killing someone. For example, if the criminal is a child, he will be sent to a school so he can get a proper education and become a good and responsible citizen. In conclusion, I fervently believe that minor crimes should not be punished with prison. On the contrary, governments should arrange other methods like providing a different education for children, creating special programs, or support group chats.