Some children spend a long time each day on their smartphones. Why is this? Is this a positive or negative development?

Some juveniles spend a long time each day on their smartphones. This is because video streaming is so engrossing, but this can have negative consequences because it can distract children from family life. Minors love using mobile devices because streaming services have many entertaining videos. This means they have endless opportunities to enjoy themselves, and they can spend their entire day consuming new shows without thinking. For example, many videos on Netflix are aimed at children, some of which design their titles and thumbnails to entice children to click on one more video. As a result, they spend their free time in front of a screen instead of being outside doing physical activities, such as bike riding or playing sports. Despite them being highly enjoyable for the child, this essay believes they should be viewed negatively because of the impact it has on time with parents and siblings. Being around one’s nuclear family teaches children many important things, such as values manners, and how to treat others. If children miss these opportunities, they could grow up to have impaired social skills and take their values from Youtubers rather than their mother or father. For instance, one of the most popular personalities on youtube is Hogan Paul, who is well known for promoting drug use, gambling, and violence. In conclusion, videos on mobiles may be irresistible to those under 18. However, parents should restrict screen time as much as possible to limit the harmful effects influencers can have on their son’s or daughter’s upbringing.