Wealthy countries should accept more refugees and provide them with basic assistance such as food and housing. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is commonly said that rich nations should welcome more stateless people and donate their food and shelter. From my point of view, I completely disagree with the statement above because accepting a large number of refugees makes the country’s economy decrease such as the dramatic increase in the unemployment rate. Instead, the government must provide their residents with a better life and work. First of all, the additional refugees will put hard pressure on the nation’s economy because of the unemployment rate. The number of people who need suitable work increases sharply whereas the number of jobs decreases. This fact leads governments to subsidize the unemployed people and their economy will be pulled down. To illustrate that, in 2018 the United States of America stopped the refugees from Mexico with the hope to protect the country’s budget. So, it is clear that providing the refugees with some basic assistance is not the long-term solution for any nation. Besides the unemployment rate which refugees bring back, there is a potential risk coming from this group of people. To be more specific, refugees have been drawing attention from the government because the government has to make fund-raising to feed them. To give stateless people some basic assistance, they will have to charge more taxes in different ways. This budget ought to be used for disasters, financial matters now turns into a charity fund. This fact means that the country will not be able to continue developing. Also, this country will slowly become a backward nation. So, additional stateless people will also put pressure on taxes and make the country’s economy slower. In conclusion, I strongly disagree that wealthy countries should not provide refugees with any basic assistance because of the risk of the unemployment rate and tax increase which affect the country’s economy dramatically.