Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems. To what extend do you agree or disagree ?

The most effective solution for growing traffic and pollution is raising the cost of fuel. However, I totally disagree with this statement for some reasons. First of all, petrol is mainly used for cars and public transport which are demanded by people. It means that despite the raising cost individuals will not stop using vehicles. Since people use private cars for getting to their workplaces the high prices cannot prevent them from driving cars and turning to public transport. Due to public transport being inconvenient people prefer using their own cars. As a result, drivers will not stop polluting and creating traffic problems with their vehicles. For instance, imagine a situation where one family is going on a trip to the mountains. Obviously, this family will use their own car in order to reach their destination even if the price of fuel would be extremely high. Consequently, the used car will pollute the air during the whole road. Secondly, increasing the price of petrol will bring negative consequences. One point is that with hiking fuel costs other prices of different products will increase also. For example, the service of lorries will raise and it will touch the value of goods since they are delivered by trucks. Another consequence is that high prices might touch both government's economy and individuals' budgets. If petrol is expensive people will spend more money and require a boost in their salary. Evidently, it is not beneficial for the government. Since the government has its own plans to spend money it will slow down the development. However, all of these disadvantages cannot stop humans from using cars and they will continue to pollute our air and make traffic problems. To conclude, increasing the price of fuel cannot prevent people from using cars regardless of disadvantages such as high prices of goods. In addition, because of the inconvenience of public transport humans will continue driving their own vehicle creating traffics and polluting the air.