Due to the development and expansion of supermarkets some local businesses are unable to compete. Some people think that closing off the local markets will bring the death of local communities. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is well argued that the opening and renovation of big grocery stores is causing small businesses to close and face detrimental effects on the local economy. This essay will explain what are the effects produced by this growing trend and also share my personal opinion about it. Firstly, local markets are usually producing items with cultural and historical value based on their traditions. For instance, Italy hosts many craftsmen who design and produce products like vases or porcelains with the intention to sell them to tourists and visitors. Due to the phenomenon of globalisation, these products can be easily found in supermarkets, and, sometimes, at a higher price. As a result, more people will prefer to buy these products in bigger markets because of their wide accessibility and, in contrast, local businesses will eventually die. On the other hand, the expansion of supermarkets could also benefit the local communities. In fact, they sell food and goods that are imported from other countries and, therefore, consumers are able to enjoy new products which were not available before. For example, Swedish people may have the opportunity to try a tropical fruit like mango which is not growing on their land. Moreover, supermarkets have created new job opportunities. That's because big markets operate on a large scale and, consequently, they are able to offer more employment opportunities to local people. In conclusion, even though the development of supermarkets could negatively impact the local communities, they are also considered beneficial as they bring new products which otherwise they could not have.