Nowadays, instead of locally sourced produce, many supermarkets sell a variety of foods imported from countries all across the world. Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

These days, it is believed by many that rather than offering domestic products, the overwhelming majority of shopping malls opt to provide their clients with international cuisines. Although such a trend carries some salient merits, I personally believe that its drawbacks outnumber its virtues for economic and health reasons. On the one hand, one reason why the ubiquity of open food markets is considered to be advantageous relates to the sense of competitiveness. If merchandisers noticed that customers were more inclined to international commodities due to their premium quality, definitely would they take strict initiatives to improve their produce such as opting for high-quality ingredients and sticking to the highest processing criteria. Moreover, new trade opportunities would appear on the horizon due to the potentiality of indigenous products to compete against universal ones which will, therefore, give a boost to the national economy by injecting millions of dollars into the national budget. On the other hand, as for the demerits, the excessive intervention of foreign commodities could jeopardize developing countries. When the national market of less-developed nations is dominated by overseas merchandise, fierce competition would emerge, which cannot be counteracted by small domestic projects. In Egypt, for example, the introduction of Japanese noodles led to the termination of Egyptian noodles factories. Furthermore, such a tendency triggers some erroneous habits such as consumerism which induces the overconsumption of unhealthy and hazardous dietary products. Subsequently, a plethora of potentially fatal diseases would appear such as obesity, diabetes and cardiac problems. In conclusion, despite the fact that the integration of markets would benefit the manufacturing process of domestic production, I am convinced that its downsides are utterly more serious owing to its detrimental impact on developing businesses and health hazards.