Many museums charge for admission, while others are free. Do you think the advantages of charging people for admission to museums outweigh the disadvantages?

A large number of museums charge an entrance fee, while many others are free of charge. Although charging people an admission fee can prevent them from visiting the place, this essay believes that is far more beneficial for the institution to charge a fee at the entrance because it helps with the space maintenance. Considering firstly the baneful consequences of charging an admission fee, this can make tourists stop visiting museums and art galleries when they go to a new country. When someone visits a new city they often need to spend money on accommodation and food, therefore they do not have the budget to spend on museums. As a result, they do not learn the new culture and also they might avoid travelling which can later impact that country´s economic development. For instance, if admission to the Natural History Museum in London was not free, many people might not find it attractive to visit the city anymore. However, I do not think this reason is significant to make all the admissions free of charge. Having said that, some galleries are poorly supported by the government, which has a tight budget, and do not easily squander money in the arts. This is the reason why these places should get money from private sources, such as admission fees. These pecuniary resources would therefore be used to pay the employee's salaries and to maintain the building in a good shape. If this does not happen, many places would need to close their doors, which could negatively also impact the country´s economy. For example, if the Transport Museum in Lisbon did not charge one euro per person, they would have already been closed. This is why I think that the advantages of charging fees to people outweigh the disadvantages. In conclusion, although making visitors pay at the entrance of a museum or gallery can reduce the number of visitors, I am a vehement supporter that this money is crucial to keep them open. For this reason, I agree that the advantages of charging a fee outnumber the disadvantages.