Some children receive almost no encouragement from their parents regarding their performance at school, while other children receive too much pressure from their over enthusiastic parents which can have a negative impact on the child. Why do you think some parents put too much pressure on their children to perform well at school? What do you think the role of a parent should be in their child’s education?

Some parents are never content with their children ’s academic performances at school, pursuing the remarkable level is their ultimate goal. Children ’s mental health and other skills are almost negligible to this type of parents. This phenomenon is especially severe in Asian families. There are various factors contributing to this circumstance. The society is getting increasingly competitive and the unemployment rate is concerning in many countries, parents could be worrying that their children cannot gain enough employable skills to make a living in the future, so they push their children to exploit their talent. Other parents could be merely competitive, they wish their children to achieve best of everything, especially perfect academic record. If they have high expectation towards their offspring, it would definitely result in more pressure on their next generation. I believe parents should be the protector, mentor and encourager in their child’s development. They should firstly protect their children from most of the potential hazards in the society and world, otherwise, children could easily go astray if that’s the case. Then I deem parents could lead and encourage their children to find their gifts and realize their potential. Encouraging and cultivating their confidence is the key. Developing and fostering children ’s assertiveness will make a significant impact on one’s life, since confidence will result in autonomous and motivation, therefore, lead to a generally better life. To sum up, I deem competitive society and parents could be main reason of too much pressure on children and parents should be the protector, mentor and encourager of their children ’s life.