One of the consequences of improved medical care is that people are living longer and life expectancy is increasing. Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages ?

The medical field has seen a lot of innovation and development in recent years resulting in extended longevity of people's lives and enhanced life expectancy all across the globe. While this may have made humans a bit more reliant on treatments and can have unknown side effects, I believe there are more advantages because death numbers have drastically reduced and new diseases can be identified and cured faster. One of the main drawbacks of improved healthcare systems is the increased dependency of humans on drugs and treatments. Medicines are being consumed on a large scale for something as minor as fever or cough, which is likely to make our immune systems stronger, in order to get a quicker relief. Not only this, a natural process like childbirth, for instance, is being performed surgically at an increased rate now, due to the reduced pain tolerance among humans. Additionally, there are certain side effects to this. Any kind of sedative that calms the nerves, may have long-term impacts on your blood pressure. Hence, you need more drugs to curb this, which completes the cycle of reliability. One of the primary advantages is the decrease in the number of deaths. There used to be no cure for a disease like dengue, chicken pox or cancer, and over the years scientists have figured this out, saving humankind. For example, in conservative societies like India and Africa, a major portion of the childbirths had to be done at home, which meant that some of these women and children would not even survive. Thanks to improved medical care, women and infants, both have a 100% chance of surviving now. Take another example of COVID-19, when it hit the world, it seemed impossible to get out of it, but only after a year or so, researchers figure out the vaccines and even start distributing them across the globe. This would not have happened at such a quick rate without the advancements in treatments. In conclusion, although advances in the healthcare system can have a minor risk of getting addicted or catching some side effects, I believe the advantages far outweigh the disadvantages because of the number of human lives it can save and the speed and scale at which it can detect and cure the new ones.