Nowadays, a growing number of people with health problems are trying alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting their usual doctor. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, a growing number of people with health problems are trying alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting their usual doctor. Do you think this is a positive or negative development? In this modern era, traditional treatments remain popular among Indonesian folk. Currently, there was an increase in society choosing alternative ways to treat their health problems rather than medical analysis. This phenomenon can generate some risks for public health due to its uncertainty and unmeasurably side effects. I share the view that traditional medication has greater drawbacks than benefits. In my opinion, there are several reasons why societies try traditional medicines. To begin with, it considerably offers a cheaper therapy. For example, having coin massage in this country to fix flu and Influenza instead of taking a doctor’s medicine due to doctor’s fees and the expensive price of patent medicine. The other reason is it does not involve any kind of surgery. For example, using acupuncture for heart diseases instead of taking open chest operation. The last excuse is the descendants' habit to go to shamans as part of their culture,especially in small towns or villages. Many villagers still believe in traditional practitioners to help them to overcome problems including healthiness because of their culture as well as lack of education. On the other hand, I propose some detrimental impacts of traditional treatment. First of all, it may contain a higher risk for its unacknowledged effect. For instance, the effect of coin massage has not been scientifically proven to diminish flu, but it may give a side effect on skin strength. Secondly, it can trigger malpractice which is dangerous for public health. Traditional practitioners rarely had a legal license to practice. The method also does not follow any scientific procedures so it can be harmful to our bodies and may trigger malpractice. The last reason is it may bring a negative consequences on the future of medical study. If the public does not believe in their doctors and medical researchers, their existence of them will decrease and we will come back to the old days without any progress in public wellness. To conclude, our community need to be carefully aware of the impact of alternative medicine. I still believe the disadvantages are far greater than the advantage for well-being development. However, we have to educate our society to be aware of the consequences of alternative treatment and improve the curiosity for legal tender to operate the medical practice