due to a more sedentary lifestyles, children in developed nations have higher levels of obesity compared to previous generations. what problems does this cause and what are the possible consequences?

In industrialised countries, boys and girls are less active, and, therefore, they are more obese now when compared to other generations. This can bring baneful consequences because it can make them ill adults and it can increase the government expenses in the healthcare area. To mitigate these problems, physical activity should become mandatory at school, and healthier food choices should be provided in these institutions. High levels of obesity in children are rising concerns in society because that can make them grow up as ill adults. This is because being overweight is responsible for type-2 diabetes and cardiovascular diseases, which instead to appear when people are elderly, tends to appear when they are young adults. Another issue is the increased expenses that government needs to allocate its budget to face this situation. It has been observed that people under these conditions are required to take several medications and are more likely to be hospitalised. For instance, in the United States of America, the hospitalisation rate under the 50s due to heart conditions is higher than in Portugal, which is related to the higher levels of obesity that the former have compared to the latter. In order to solve these issues physical exercise should be made compulsory at school. This is necessary because many children do not have time or do not have the facilities to play sports after school. Another solution to mitigate these problems is to guarantee that school provides healthy meals to their pupils. It is often observed that many children only have one main meal per day, which happens to be at school, therefore, if they were able to eat fruit and vegetables during this meal, they would grow up healthier adults. For example, since the 5-a-day (fruit and veg) rule took place in the United Kingdom, the juvenile obesity rate dropped. In conclusion, the recently adopted sedentary lifestyle can be harmful to children because they are more likely to grow up being unhealthy adults which can put a strain on the healthcare system, however, this can be reduced by having exercise classes at school and by offering healthy meals at school.