The visuals give information about the number of spacecraft launched by various national governments between 1957 and 2007 and the purpose of each mission

The provided charts indicate the amount of spacecraft and the reasons for them being launched by different countries during a 50-year period between 1957 and 2007. Overall, the vast majority of space missions were launched by the Soviet Union/Russia. The main purpose of all the launches was communicating. It is apparent that 3484 satellites were launched by the Soviet Union/ Russian accounting for more than half of the total and approximately doubling the USA data. Additionally, 1760 launches were performed by the USA which is more than the data for all other countries excluding the USSR/Russian Federation. On the other hand, there were only 28 launches by Canada which is approximately ten times fewer than those by the EU. More than half of the launches were performed for communicating and surveillance satellites while the least popular purpose was planetary exploration with only 5 per cent of the total. It is also noticeable, that the combined percentage of manned space programs, weather observation and planetary exploration is only 18 per cent which is less than the percentage of surveillance satellites or the percentage of communications. In conclusion, the vast majority of space missions were launched by the Soviet Union/Russia. The main purpose of all the launches was communicating.