In the future, nobody will buy printed newspapers or books because they will be able to read everything that they want online without paying. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is believed that printed publications like newspapers and books will not be bought as all kinds of information can be accessed online for free. I tend to disagree with this idea, although the Internet does play an important role in offering information to readers. It is undeniable that the Internet is convenient for netizens to obtain information freely. To begin with, online social media broadcasts the latest news every single day, covering from official announcements to entertainment news. Since they can disseminate information effectively, citizens can easily get access to the latest policies or events on the Internet, instead of buying published newspapers. Apart from that, abundant e- books are accessible on the Internet, including academic and entertaining materials. Compared with printed ones which required more effort, a variety of e- books can be simply found and accessed through search engines by clicking the mouse free of charge. This can meet people’s need for extensive reading, thereby becoming increasingly prevalent in society. Nevertheless, I believe physical books will never be replaced by new reading methods, for the reason that the public still has a huge demand for them. Firstly, chances are that readers can be more concentrated on the content of books when reading physical materials compared with reading online, which is mainly because they will not be distracted by any other messages showing up on their mobile phones or computers. Secondly, sometimes published books tend to be relatively more reliable thanks to several rounds of editing and proofreading before the publishment of the final edition. For instance, some inflammatory statements that are commonly seen on unscrupulous online media platforms will not appear in official publications. In that case, the published reading can convey more objective information to the public. In conclusion, although online reading might be increasingly popular in the future, I still believe printed books and newspapers will continue to be valued by many readers, due to the fact that both of them have their own merits.