Many goverments think that economic progress is their most important goal. Some people, however, think that other type of progress are equally important for a country Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Countries are not easy to rule. Some people, often from the public sector, argue that laws and resources should be put towards finances and economics, whereas there is a rising opinion about other areas that directly impact the well-being of a country, such as social matters and security. This essay will discuss both viewpoints and the arguments from each side. It is believed that quality of life can be improved through economic growth, therefore it is prioritized by lawmakers to invest in productive industries like manufacturing, mining and agriculture, which not only provide jobs to low-income families but the final products exported to multiple countries and strengthen the local currency. Moreover, a good economy supports bigger budgets to attend to other sectors like public services, technology, health care and education which often require significant investments to reach the most remote areas of the country. On the other hand, it is often argued that social progress is as essential as economics. Firstly, equality and human rights must be a priority for governments, as an example ensuring that there are no differences between salaries between women and men and preserving the cultural heritage of indigenous tribes are often more valuable for a community than the benefits of a free trade agreement. Secondly, another crucial topic that should be of importance to governments is security and drug traffic, which are often not related at all to economic growth. If there are no campaigns or efforts to control drug use in younger generations, crime levels and the proportion of homeless are expected to increase in the next years. In conclusion, supporters of economic growth believe that focusing on bringing more income and resources to a country it will serve to improve quality of life, whilst the opposition considers social progress must be taken into account when creating laws and policies as they affect people in their daily lives. Personally, I believe that there must be a balance and a country should not be only measured by economic figures but rather by the well-being of its habitants and opportunities for future generations.