Question: Traffic congestion in many cities in the world makes it difficult for people to get in and out of cities, and to move around inside them. Why do you think this is happening? What could be done to solve these problems?

Commuting has become a challenge in many major metropolitans around the globe. Private transport occupies a significant share of the movement of vehicles, which makes it hard for the users to enter or leave the urban areas or to roam inside the cities. This essay tries to investigate the causes of this issue and to suggest some possible solutions. To begin with, mobility has improved a lot with the advent of the technological boom. New features were introduced into the cars, which has set up a new safety standard. This is one of the reasons for the increased number of vehicles on the roads, which causes the long traffic queues. For example, if you look at the sales of all car manufacturers, you can see a dramatic leap in the last fifteen years. In addition to this, the road conditions remain the same due to the space constraints for the expansion to accommodate these excess vehicles. For example, cities like Cambridge have no room for a new road or to improve the width of an existing one, thus traffic flow is literally at a stand-still there. When you think about the solutions to the above-mentioned dilemma, the first one that comes to my mind is to improve the public transport system. If you have a good public transport network, people will definitely change over to use them. The best example of this is Japan, where the public railway network in Tokyo eliminates the congestion on the roads. Secondly, authorities can impose high parking charges and taxes on private vehicles so that people avoid using them. For instance, in London, there is a charge for fuel emissions. Hence, people use tube trains to commute around central London. To summarize, it is becoming more and more struggle to get through the urban motorflow because of the reasons,which were discussed earlier and city governing bodies can try some of the suggestions to ameliorate this.