Today more and more people are overweight than before. What, in your opinion, are the primary causes of this? What are the main effects of this epidemic?

These days, people tend to have more weight problems compared to the past. In particular, there is the topic of obesity which is argued a lot due to its serious effects on physical and mental health. In this essay, I will discuss the reasons and consequences of this growing phenomenon. One of the main reasons why the number of overweight people is increasing could be related to an unhealthy diet. In other words, some people tend to eat more than they should, especially those products that can harm their body system. For example, there are individuals who only consume junk food such as hamburgers and french fries. Furthermore, people suffering from these kinds of diseases are usually those who live sedentary so without doing proper physical activities and just staying in front of the tv all day. Some potential side effects of living under these conditions can vary from a high or low level of blood pressure to heart attacks or, sometimes, cancer. In fact, obesity is the hidden factor for many diseases resulting in death. For instance, many researchers have proven that people who are affected by obesity might be more at risk of heart attacks. Moreover, cases of psychological disorders such as depression have been found among fat people as they are more inclined to not accept their bodies. As a result, this could lead to serious mental issues. In conclusion, having an unhealthy lifestyle is proven to be the major cause of the rising number of overweight people, which can lead to physical and mental problems. For this reason, it would be important to eat more properly.