Some people prefer to spend their lives dong the same things and avoiding change. Other, however, think that change is always a good thing. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant example from your own knowledge or experience.

Some people like to stick to a routine while others advocate that diversity is necessary to maintain good mental health. Both viewpoints have their merits and it is worth examining the arguments more in detail. On one hand, people who oppose change argue that routines create a sense of stability and security. By doing the same thing on a daily basis, individuals find it easier to make decisions, can forecast outcomes and they are able to manage their own time and control emotions. Additionally, only through repetition one can excel at tasks and activities that are performed continuously, for example, working on the same job for a long time can teach employees how to do their work more efficiently. On the other hand, proponents of change consider it can be beneficial for one's development for many reasons. First of all, significant changes such as switching jobs or living abroad contribute to personal and professional growth as there is constant exposure to new experiences and perspectives. Moreover, although it is often believed that routines are good for controlling emotions, advocates of change assure that facing new situations is essential for maintaining good mental health, as it is a great tool for self-discovery and emotional intelligence. At last, though, through, change one can possess valuable skills such as adaptation, problem-solving and creative thinking. In conclusion, routines are perceived as vital for stability and to provide a sense of security where you can control outcomes, whilst change is perceived as required for personal growth and to advance in life. Personally, there must be a balance between repetition and newness to lead and maintain a happy and fulfilling life. Changing jobs, diets and housing regularly have more drawbacks than upsides in the long term, meanwhile introducing change every then in a while is crucial for fighting boredom and depression.