Nowadays technology is increasing being used by the government to monitor what people are saying and doing {for example, through cell phone tracking and security cameras} Is this a positive development or a negative development?

It has been noticed that in this contemporary era the government is using latest gizmos to keep an eye on people via cameras and cell phone. This essay will examine the merits and demerits associated with this trend before it reaches to an appropriate conclusion. There, arguably, are certain demerits for monitoring people through different technology-based trackers. To begin with, the loss of freedom of communication is the most obvious demerit of this. It is undeniably true that the ruling government won’t entertain groups on social media speaking ill about them. Now, if they have trackers they could track and delete that post, which hinders free communication. Also, there are instances where people are put behind the bars for this. For example, many communist governments, like China, do not entertain negative communication on internet from their citizens. Another possible disadvantage for this is disruption of law and order. It is undeniably true that peace and harmony in the country will be sacrificed if citizens feel that they are constantly being tracked. However, there supposedly are more advantages. The foremost advantage for this is decrease in terrorism. To be precise, terrorists need a medium to communicate and execute their plans. Now, this could be stopped right there without any further damage if their communication is tracked by the government. For example, as per the survey conducted by the Government of Nigeria, more than 10 bomb blasts were stopped due to the government trackers. In addition to this reduction in robbery cases is, without a doubt, a clear advantage. It is an irrefutable fact that citizens are forced to steal in nations where illiteracy and financial position is not good. Now, if we have cameras in place this could be stopped. Finally, women safety, can also be considered as an important merit linked to this development. To conclude, there undoubtedly are some disadvantages for monitoring people as highlighted above. However, considering the magnitude of merits and their favourable impact that can have on the citizens and the country, I am of the opinion that tracking people is a positive development.