Detailed describtion of crimes on newspaper and TV can have bad consequences on society, so this kind of information should be banned in the media. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, societies all across the globe are susceptible to mass- media -related delinquency more than ever before. Therefore, some experts have proposed the prohibition of in-depth showcases of crime scenes from media platforms. This essay will explain why I agree that society might turn into a frightening place although this information can raise public awareness. Admittedly, there are a plethora of explicit crime scenes and the media often makes headlines with them. Newspapers, TV channels and radio are mainly focused on propagating criminal acts with vivid descriptions to impress readers and viewers. Even the most violent personals such as Nikko Jenkinson, who is an American serial killer, are covered by media reporters in an ordinary, unworried tone of voice. This inevitably makes the general public who watches it become careless about the nature and seriousness of crimes committed. This type of explicit showcase of unpity behaviour upon committing a crime may create the successors of Nikko Jenkinson in other societies. However, from a viewer's standpoint, comprehensive descriptions of criminal offences may actually help people to prevent such cases in their own lives. In other words, they can self-educate through this, which could assist them in avoiding criminal traps. For example, when news about unknown gangs killing housewives who opened the door to intruders breaks out, this may be a lesson to learn for other women of similar habits. Moreover, a scenic appearance of a taxi driver accused of abusing and robbing rich passengers can open many people's eyes and make them extra alert. In short, reading and watching criminal reviews on media can help other people to stay out of trouble. In conclusion, while it is true that prohibiting the explicit media coverage of crimes can keep society in a safe zone, I do also believe that this sort of information has a role to play in our day-to-day lives.