These days, many people have their own computer and telephone, so it is quite easy for them to do their job at home. Does working at home have more advantages or more disadvantages?

In modern society, it is claimed that people can work from home easily, thanks to the prevalence of high-tech products like computers and cell phones. Even though this new working method has some drawbacks, I believe that it has more merits. It is undeniable that working from home can cause some potential problems. To start with, this emerging working form will possibly deprive the public of interpersonal skills. It is essential for modern citizens to learn how to compete, collaborate and compromise with their colleagues in the workplace. However, when telecommuting all the time, they tend to rely on online platforms for communication. In the long run, they might not be able to adapt themselves to mainstream society, or even end up becoming misfits in their real lives. Apart from that, individuals who adopt this arrangement will be unlikely to gain a promotion or an increased salary package. That is mainly because people's endeavours at home will be invisible to others, which makes it hard to gain recognition for their efforts from their bosses or leaders. Nevertheless, there are still some benefits of this working method which should not be underestimated. Firstly, people working from home will not suffer from a stressful commute and can adjust their time to suit their own lives better. Since they can escape from the hustle and bustle of public transportation and will not be bothered by traffic congestion during peak hours, they can have more available time to do their personal stuff. Additionally, telecommuting enables them to get rid of office distractions and allows them to concentrate on their own duties, thereby enhancing their working efficiency. Chances are that whenever they arrive at the workplace, they have to socialize with their colleagues for a while, in case of being impolite. But they will not be trapped in this situation when working from home and they can therefore be fully devoted to their working content. In conclusion, although finishing work tasks at home can bring some perils, I am adamant that it can be beneficial to workers as its upsides outweigh the downsides.