Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

A circumstance in which the daily use of smartphones by children has been exaggerated stems from their parental influence. From my perspective, this is a negative trend due to the adverse effects that technologies can have on children's mental and physical health. Undoubtedly, parents play a significant role in affecting the children's use of electronic devices. To explain further, children usually model their parent's activities regardless of whether those are good for them or not. Therefore, if parents devote abundant time to using gadgets, the young will do the same, leading to an even worse case where children are given full permission to use their smartphones on a daily basis. Consequently, they have no chance to stay away from those portable gadgets. With the frequent use of phones, children can have a higher possibility to suffer from physical health problems. Indeed, young individuals tend to overly focus on using their gadgets, making them have no time for any physical exercises to burn off calories they take everyday. Overtime, their bodies will reach the limit sooner or later, allowing diabetes and obesity to appear. Meanwhile, mental health issues can also be associated with the lengthy use of devices. Once children finish their use, they may experience a slight or severe headache which potentially triggers serious mental health concerns, such as depression or anxiety. If not managed properly, they are prone to have difficulty in concentration coupled with the emotional control. In conclusion, the excessive amount of time that children use smartphones is mainly attributed to parental influence. This has a detrimental impact on children's health, both mentally and physically.