Nowadays, a growing number of people with healt problems are trying alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting their usual doctor. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development.

Clearly, alternative ways of treating illnesses have gained quite a popularity over the last years. It is increasingly diverting many people from conventional doctors, and although it may have some advantages, the change may cause certain repercussions. Diversification of treatment methods with more and more people turning to other ways than medicine may reduce workload stress, and enable doctors to devote more time on more serious diseases. In certain situations, patients with severe illnesses may not receive enough attention from the medical personnel. However, seeking answers in alternative ways may also result in patients whose illnesses demand quick treatment losing valuable time. For instance, trying to cure cancer with music or magnetic treatment may not be a feasible option and the outcome can be catastrophic for the patient. So, despite its benefits, the shift towards alternative medicines cannot always be supported. In the long term, the trend may divert people from scientifically proven ways of treating diseases, reducing society’s trust in medicine. This can have devastating effects on community, as history has proven this multiple times. Another problem is many of the specialists who provide alternative treatments are not qualified medical personnel, so they cannot always be trusted for the right consultation. For instance, treatment of certain diseases may require certain actions such as spending more time under the sun or the opposite. Alternative treatment may not take these factors into consideration, and while trying to cure the patient, it can actually exacerbate the problem. In conclusion, many individuals turning to alternative medicines and treatments rather than trained medical professionals may be helpful to mitigate small problems, but on a larger scale it can be more damaging for the society.