People in all modern societies use drugs, but today's youth are experimenting with both legal and illegal drugs, and at an increasingly early age. Some sociologists claim that parents and other members of society often set a bad example.

There is no doubt that these days the number of young people who abuse drugs had increased dramatically in modern societies. The question is, who is responsible for this phenomenon? In this essay, I am going to discuss the issue and provide solutions. In terms of causes, some people consider the effect of bad friends on teenagers maybe drives them to use drugs. The main reason given to support this claim is, that young people always have the desire to make everyone like them. To illustrate, in high school teenagers tend to break the law if this is what will make them acceptable to their peers. In other words, youth always fall under influence of anything that makes them heroes. Moreover, some teenagers hate reality and have the desire to harm themselves. Therefore, drugs give them certain feelings to escape from life. In my opinion, there are steps should take to solve this problem. Firstly, being aware youth about the serious consequences of drugs will help them to understand and keep them away from the drugs. Secondly, providing opportunities to work and gain money will make them understand the value of money. Also, teenagers should know the value of health and time. However, teenagers are targeted for drug suppliers in modern communities because they have easy money and they are irresponsible sometimes. In conclusion, although some people consider that parents and other members of society set bad example, some people consider that everyone has choice to choose. Therefore, I believe that government should ensure steps are taken to prevent this phenomenon from determining.