Advertising encourages customers to buy in quantity not in quality. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is a controversial perspective heating up a debate over the effects of commercials. Some people claim that advertising boosts the number of products, not the quality. While this opinion is valid to some extent, I would contend that I am an advocate of it. Without a shadow of a doubt, there are myriads of advertisements encouraging individuals to purchase in quantity rather than for real value. Obviously, the more merchandise bought, the greater the profits are gained. With regards to this, Vinamilk yoghurt can be cited as an outstanding example of a promotion that concentrates on quantity over quality. In particular, the branch always encourages customers to buy more than they actually need with the “buy 4 get 1 free” promotion. Therefore, the purpose of this promotion is to motivate people to buy items in larger numbers rather than they would in standard products. On the contrary, in some cases, advertisements promote consumers to purchase goods due to their quality. It is clear that commercials deliver information to customers, which helps them to approach their needs by introducing their perks so that customers can rely on them to make reference before buying. For instance, Sunsilk still meets customer demands and guarantees what they claim in the promotions such as aromatic scents, and silky-smooth hair, to name a few. Hence, commercials do not always focus on the number of sold commodities, quality is also taken into account. To sum up, advertising often encourages clients to purchase objects in large quantities. Nevertheless, in certain circumstances, the value is also concentrated.