More and more people want to own famous brands of cars, clothes and other items. What are the reason for this. Is this a positive or negative trend?

There are various causes of growing demand on famous brands, in which the popularity of social media accounted for the largest proportion. Take many downsides into perspective, such as price abuse which violate the benefit of consumers, on top of that, it could restrict the development of local business. I believe such trend derive more negative effects than positive ones First of all, people at nowadays accustom to share their daily life on social medias, including well-known business men and women, along with influencers. The products they use are associated with their glory life, which stimulate the trend of imitation. Take Starbucks as an example, which is one of the most popular coffee brand around the world. Despite that the costs of coffee in Starbucks is higher than regular coffee shops, their products remain popular among young adults. However, such trends could lead to a great number of issues, including famouse brand monopoly the market, restricting the development of local business. Moreover, it is inevitable that the majority of products from well-known brands are overcharge, compared to the local private institutions which use better materials with unique design. For example, Samsung is the most famous brand in Korea, users value their brand so much that it is hard for small business to promote their own products. To conclude, the development of social media lead to a growing population who prefer purchase based on the brands. Eventhough that it is an unstoppable trend, in my perspective the downsides overweight the positive one. Therefore, I suggest it is a negative trend.