Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is argued that governments must focus on enhancing and developing new roads for residents rather than spending money on railways; however, I do not agree, as I think railways are much better. Driving on the roads has been considered people's first choice for so long, but with the high-rising number of road accidents and jammed traffic, I believe it is time to change that consideration and look for a better option for transportation. Cars can put people's lives at risk and increase the potential for danger as they require non-ending focus, and many people can lose their focus at any minute behind the wheel. Also, driving can be a waste of time, as no one can be as productive as they can be on trains. Enhancing railways can reduce traffic on roads; moreover, it can cover huge areas of the country, which can be beneficial for long-distance families and friends as they can visit each other more frequently in an easy way. Also, working on the tram network in a city can be more advantageous to the students and workers in that town. For example, students can review their studies on their laptops or books while they are on their way to school. To add to this, improving the railway system can also have positive environmental impacts, as it can reduce carbon emissions and air pollution caused by road transportation. In conclusion, I find that the country's spending on the railway and train network is more convenient to the members of the public.