learning about the past has no value for those of us living in the present . to what extend do u agree or disagree ?

Some people think that learning about one's past is a waste of time and effort, as the past should stay in the past, and we cannot change much of the past. I, however, strongly disagree as the past has many important lessons for us. Furthermore, history also shapes our identity in this chaotic world that we are living in currently. One of the greatest benefits of learning from history is the crucial information and lessons that it can offer. For example, reading about ancient farming techniques teaches the farmers of the good and bad practices for a good harvest. If we do not appreciate the past, we will be repeating the same mistakes as our previous generations. Even learning from pioneers in certain fields can save us plenty of time as the experience and knowledge they acquired in the past can help minimise mistakes. Another benefit of learning from our past is it helps to shape our identity. This is proven by many people who spent a great deal of money and time finding their roots in the countries or villages their parents or grandparents originated from. Culturally, learning from our past can make us understand what we practise in daily life. If we do not look into the past, we will not know our cultural and religious background, which might result in an identity crisis. For instance, learning about our ancestors and the hardship they faced will instil respect and admiration for them, thus, making us proud of who we are today. In conclusion, I strongly agree that studying our past brings more benefits to us than its demerits. We should always stay humble and learn from those before us, so that we can learn from their mistakes. We will also be more rooted and understand our cultural background better, and thus the country will be a more interesting and diverse place to live in.