Public health is becoming an urgent issue nowadays. Some argue that governments should create nutrition and food choice laws to improve public health, while others believe that it is a matter of personal choice and responsibility. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In this sedentary life, physical health has become a serious concern for society. Some people opine that government should take some preventive measures to help the masses whereas, others believe that it should be dealt with by an individual. This essay will discuss both perspectives and conclude with my opinion. To commence with, people nowadays, tend to eat junk food which is one of the primary reasons for various health diseases like obesity, heart disease, and cancer. On that note, with the help of campaigns, the government must educate the masses about the harmful effects of eating excess junk food and drinks. For example, some countries like Germany and London banned the use of cigarettes. Also, these countries advertise the harmful effects of consuming tobacco in order to improve the health of individuals. Furthermore, the government can imply a heavy tax rate on purchasing such items that can cause major health problems in order to limit the consumption rate. On the other hand, the masses must be accountable to maintain their good health as it should be an individual responsibility to be fit, and healthy. To elaborate more, as we all know that excess of anything is bad therefore, one should maintain a balanced diet, and limit the consumption of such food items that can be injurious to their health. For instance, recent research has shown that 80 per cent of people enrolled themselves with nutritionists to maintain proper health and diet as a result, there is a decline in health -related problems. To conclude, I firmly believe that both the government and individuals can contribute to encouraging the nation to maintain a balanced diet and healthy lifestyle.