Some people believe that studying the past can teach nothing about life today. Others believe that history is a valuable source of information for life today. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

While some argue that studying the past is useless, others put emphasis on the value of history. As far as I’m concerned, history provides us with values nowadays. Some people assist that learning the past can teach nothing about life currently. No matter how hard we tried, we would never change things that had already happened. It’s definitely kind of a waste to pay much attention to the past due to the fact that we can do nothing but receive reality. What’s more, since the development paths of human society are quite distinguished during different periods, if we only focus on the methods used in the old times, we will find it difficult to make innovative progress. However, some claim that people today are able to learn a lot from history. History provides us with abundant experience as well as information, which can help us avoid unnecessary loss. For example, the world gets to know the significance of peace through cruel wars. Besides, the governments have commanded the experience of how to save lives in natural disasters like earthquakes, thanks to history. Not to mention what politicians and bankers could learn from a financial crisis. From my point of view, studying history is so vital that it can broaden our horizons and improve our critical thinking. “What past is prologue”, I strongly believe the past is a mirror and we can get access to numerous valuable things from it. In conclusion, people have opposite opinions when it comes to the relationship between the past and today. I would say we are supposed to emphasize the value of history. Perhaps that’s why students take history lessons in school.