Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Nowadays, the train is known as the most efficient transport vehicle in the world. In different countries, authorities aim to apply it in more effective ways instead of expanding roads. It seems to me that the governors should make more effort to improve the rail lines in and among the cities. The main point would appear to long travel time to reach a distant destination which can raise the risks of vehicle crashes, attributed to exhaustion and stress a driver goes through when hitting the road, from traffic regulations to other vehicles on routes. In other words, governments should invest in building railways because they are safer since accidents rarely happen, not only that, but trains are more convenient for passengers and those traveling because of work obligations. For example, a train can save the trouble of driving for long hours and reduce the hazard that comes with it for an employee who, due to her job, has to go different places. These authorities must support public transportation by funding it to offer the best services to citizens. A further issue relates to the Carbone footprint, which can be moderated by spreading network- rail tracks. Hence, the government can limit many environmental costs and save finances for other problems. For more explanation, families or co-workers could travel in groups instead of going separately in cars which can significantly reduce the emission of greenhouse gases. There are indeed some positives to roads, most notably the privacy in personal cars rather than trains. Despite this, it seems that privacy is outweighed by issues that can cause air pollution.