Some people believe that a gap year between school and university is a good idea, while others disagree strongly. Consider both sides of this debate and present your own pinion.

A growing number of youngsters are being encouraged to postpone higher education and not attend immediately to a university after high school graduation. Although there are some valid arguments to the contrary, I believe the advantages of taking a year off in terms of self-recognition and saving money far outweigh its drawbacks. First of all, some people justifiably argue that one can derive enormous benefits from devoting the gap year between college and university to self-exploration, working and, in turn, learning how to live independently. Regarding self-awareness, a gap year can provide time for self-awareness and personal development, allowing students to discover their interests and passions before committing to a university program. A further benefit is they can earn money to fund their future education. University tuition has been on the rise, and therefore it creates difficulties for students who seek higher education, making them deprived of access to quality education. Thus, applying for a place at a university at a later stage, while working, can be beneficial. By contrast, they are those subscribing to the view that a university education is of paramount importance and on no account should it postpone to the later stages of one's life. Despite earning money and gaining experience, pupils might delay pupils career goals in that this would delay their graduation and postpone their career goals. Moreover, a number of prestigious universities are reluctant to accept students who have gap studies. As such, high school graduates will be likely to lose the chance to study in those excellent institutions. Another potential drawback can be, one's motivation to pursue academic education might diminish as they might become too comfortable in their job or lifestyle. However, I believe these arguments are not compelling, since a decent career, nowadays, requires an academic degree, and universities are increasingly willing to choose students who have work experience and are also able to fund themselves. In conclusion, although postponing university enrollment might seem disadvantageous at first, high school graduates can benefit far more from taking a gap year before committing to a university program.