You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. People think that the best way to reduce crime is to give longer prison sentences. Others believe that there are other alternative solutions for reducing crime. Discuss both views and give your opinion on this topic. You should write at least 250 words.

Some people believe that the effective way to decrease crimes is by giving criminals longer prison sentences, while other people think that there are other better and more useful options to reduce crime rates. In my point of view, I completely agree with the second opinion because staying in prison will not result in having fewer crimes, whereas other solutions like rehabilitation could help with reducing them. This essay will investigate the two different opinions. On the one hand, criminals always think that even if they went to prison, they will stay for a little times and then they will leave but spending more time there is going to change their minds. In other words, spending a lot of years in prison can lead them into regretting committing it another time as they would, definitely have quite challenging and tough years away from freedom. Furthermore, this harsh punishment is going to make people scared of doing the same thing. On the other hand, it can be argued that there are alternatives that have better benefits and results. For example, spreading awareness about the consequences of these crimes and how much they can affect their lives. Nevertheless, the government should put strict rules in order to keep people safe and decrease crime rates. In addition, if someone is going to buy a gun, he just have a gun license so that murder crimes do not increase. A good example of this is provided by the USA as everyone can have a gun which resulted in murder growth in the country To conclude, I would like to reiterate my opinion that other solutions can be done better than prison, Also governments should protect citizens from criminals at any cost.