Some sports are considered extremely dangerous, but many people still like them. Why do people take part in dangerous sports? Give some suggestions on how to deal with these dangers.

People participate in a wide variety of sports from the traditional ones like cricket or tennis to the most extreme ones such as boxing or mixed martial arts. Although every sport surely carries some risk, these extreme sports can lead to fatal consequences if something goes wrong. Thankfully, there are ways to mitigate such risks in order to avoid such consequences. The main reason why people enjoy participating in these sports is the emotional high they can bring about. When skiers fly through the air on their surfboards or people summit the mountain without ropes, they feel a surge of dopamine, the feel-good chemical, which becomes addictive. When these extreme sports enthusiasts take such risky measures, the appetite for this feeling increases over time as they conquer more and more goals. The other reason, is the sense of achievement that they accomplish. However, this sensation is common for all kinds of sports but it is heightened when the sports itself is high risk. For instance, a surfer may dream to do a 360 flip on air and when they do it, they have not just survived a life-threatening situation but also have added a skill that others dream to achieve. It is important, however, that steps are taken in order to minimise such risks. First and foremost, these risk takers need to educate themselves, be it on how to monitor the wind and waves during surfing and also falling from a horse in the most careful way. Moreover, this extends to the priority to use safety and suitable gear in order to protect themselves. In addition to individual responsibilities, there are guidelines that should be put in place by authorities. When it comes to Olympic sports, sports like boxing or martial arts have strict rules to reduce the risk of spinal and head injuries. In conclusion, driven by dopamine and the idea of success, people will pursue extreme sports. If complying with regulations and also acting responsibly, participants should be able to enjoy these sports without putting themselves in grave danger.