Solar energy is becoming more and more popular as a source of household energy in many countries around the world. Why is this? What are the advatages and disadvantages of solar energy?

The increasing number of solar energy used in homes is observed in numerous countries all over the world. This change has happened because of affordable prices and the rising awareness of environmental problems. While it creates positive effects on climate, there is a growing concern about waste in the foreseeable future. The primary reason for the increasing use of solar energy is the decline in its price thanks to technological developments. A few decades ago, the production costs of this system were so expensive that only high-class people could afford to purchase it. Nevertheless, the improvement of the production process and growing demand enable various customers to install solar panels in their houses economically. Moreover, governments have realised that if they take no action against the issue of climate change, society will lose its sustainability. Thus, more and more authorities establish subsidies for solar systems, which encourages a number of people to select this new energy. Moving on to the influences of this change, one of the positive sides is the reduction of carbon dioxide, known as a greenhouse gas. Conversion of human lifestyle to sustainability is an emergent issue nowadays because it is predicted that climate change can bring harmful impacts if people can not reduce greenhouse gas emissions. Solar systems are expected to be an effective method to achieve this goal. On the other hand, the downside of this transition is the way to abandon solar panels. Since these panels include several poisonous substances, it is necessary to remove them before disposing of them, which results in expensive costs. This burden may be a serious issue in the near future because a significant number of devices are predicted to lose their function by 2030. Overall, the innovation in solar systems and the policies against environmental problems stimulate people ’s minds to utilise this renewable energy. Although this change is valuable to solve climate change, it also creates an issue that people have to face.