In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and the disadvantages of giving children this message?

In some cultures, people encourage children that they can accomplish every goal only if they try hard and do their best. It is a great attitude to teach the next generation they should work hard when they face challenges, however, this might be disadvantageous when our sociality keeps telling children this message. On the one hand, people focus on children ’s academic performance, and telling children they can achieve anything if they try hard allows children to improve their academic performance. For example, my high school teacher Linda always told us if we kept practising math someday we will become a master of mathematics. I was afraid of math, but the words that Linda told us strengthened my faith. Hence, I spent a lot of time preparing for the subject and trying hard to practice the math formulas, such as expectation and opportunity cost. Finally, I got a decent score on the math final exam. On the other hand, people usually care about children ’s social networks, but telling children they can do everything might hurt their social networks. For instance, my brother Tom was a ten-year-old student, and his teacher told him that he could achieve anything if he tries hard enough. Therefore, he became very rude and arrogant to his classmates, and his classmates refused to do the projects with him. In the end, Tom became lonely and nobody was willing to play with him. However, if Tom could be more humble and try to learn from or corporate with his classmates, he might have great social networks at school. In conclusion, telling children they can achieve everything is a good strategy, because it can improve their academic performance. However, it can also be harmful to their social networks for the reason mentioned above.