In the future, nobody will buy printed newspapers or books because they will be able to read everything they want online without paying. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Reading is the most essential way to gain knowledge. Some people believe that they can read any articles on the internet without paying, so nobody will buy printed books or newspapers in the future. However, I strongly argue that people will still pay money for their books. First of all, people care about their academic performance, and using paper books allows them to take notes or underline keywords directly. To be more specific, when I was a high school student, I was really struggling in math. I tried to figure out the math formula, such as expectation and opportunity cost. Hence, I wrote numbers and took notes directly, printed books could speed up my calculation. Eventually, I got a decent score on my math final exam. However, I couldn’t draw or write numbers on paper if I used electronic devices to study math. I couldn’t solve the questions smoothly. Secondly, people emphasize social networks, and buying printed newspapers can strengthen their connection with their community. For example, my grandfather buys a newspaper from the convenience store every morning, and then he goes to the park and chats with his friend. They discuss or debate topics in newspapers, such as should the government impose a carbon tax on scooters, or whether should we let homosexual couples get married or not. The printed newspaper allows the elderly to receive new information, thus, they can have a strong connection with their community. In conclusion, using printed books can improve people ’s academic performance and strengthen their social networks. For the reasons mentioned above, I believe that people will keep using printed publications.