Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this case? Do you think is a positive or negative develompent?

Mobile phones have found their way to every corner of our lives. Almost all age groups in our society have access to mobiles, including children. There are several factors that have contributed to a increase in smartphone usage by children. In my mind, this can have a bad influence on their development. Firstly, kids are surrounded by smartphones in their homes. Parents and their elder siblings would give their young ones either a phone or a tablet to play games or watch movies. This introduces them to electronic devices as a way to entertain themselves at an early stage. For instance, there has been a huge demand in recent years to build devices to be used by kids to entertain them. Secondly, toddlers and teenagers are going less and less to playgrounds or parks. They tend to lean towards staying inside their home and watching shows and playing games on their tablet. For example, empty parks around my area that used to be full after school. For these reasons, the younger generation of our society has an adverse effect on their development. Early and longer exposure to mobile phones has restricted their physical activity. Sitting at home and staring at the displays of their phones for hours can influence their physical health in a bad way. It can cause weakness in muscles, less stamina and obesity in the long run. Furthermore, the content on smartphones is made to stimulate the human brain by forcing it to release dopamine. Although the release of dopamine is natural, too much and too often of it can have a negative impact on mental health. Artificially stimulating the brain to release this chemical can lead to dopamine withdrawal in the coming years which can lead to depression. To conclude, introduction to smartphones in the early years of one's life and dependence on these devices as the primary source of entertainment can lead to adverse effects on their minds. This not only can cause physical health issues because of lack of activity but also mental well-being issues due to chemical imbalances in the future.