Some people argue that all experimentation on animals is bad and should be outlawed. However, others believe that important scientific discoveries can be made from animal experiments. Can experimentation on animals be justified? Are there any alternatives?

Most individuals consider that experiments conducted on animals should be banned and legislated as illegal, while others perceive this to be a crucial part of scientific development. I am in favour of keeping the idea of doing experiments on animals because this not only aids us in the development of the medical field but also benefits the animals. First of all, a key factor in my agreement with experimenting on animals because it avails the growth of pharmaceutical science. For example, a lot of medicines that doctors currently prescribe for patients are extracted from animals such as snakes, scorpions or snails. Moreover, studies showed that some purified extractions of venom produce anti-ageing elements that can be applied to cosmetic products. We have turned so many fatal toxins into the use of life-saving drugs, I believe that keeping this necessary evil is critical for medicine evolution. Besides, clinical trials are not always disadvantageous for animals, on the contrary, it besteads the creatures. From my personal experience as a veterinary assistant, the hospital I worked for cooperated with a biopharmaceutical company, which was seeking for possible targeted therapy for dogs and cats. In addition, there are more researchers in other nations endeavouring in this field of various diseases for different species as well. Animals may not always be able to recover from sickness with medication, nevertheless, this can relieve the pain, offer a better life quality and give a longer lifespan. Some people perceive that conducting experiments on animals is unfair to them because they don’t have choices and no ability to reject or run away from the experiments. Indeed, this is cruel to animals, however, in terms of technology today, has not found a way not to harm animals, if we don’t do experiments on them, we can never know how to save their lives. In conclusion, I reckon that experimentation on animals should be continuing. It is sad that some lives need to be sacrificed during tests, nevertheless, we are slowly walking away from the world of natural selection. Humans are consistently putting effort into making progress in the medicinal field in order to cure illnesses for us and animals, thus, both of us can have more time and choice to live a better life.