Some people think that hosting an international sports event is good for the country, while some people think it is bad. Discuss both views and state your opinion.

It is debatable whether a country should bid to host or limit its organization of an international sports event. From my perspective, both arguments are valid to a certain extent, but I am still in favour of the former. The following paragraphs would shed light on my viewpoints. Admittedly, advocates of the second standpoint have their rational grounds. First, the government would encounter a budget deficit when executing this event. To be specific, the cost of preparing and organizing an international event is always high, including expenses for building, upgrading infrastructure, hiring employees, and buying the necessary equipment. Without this event, the legal bodies could allocate a drastic amount of money to other purposes. Second, establishing this international sports event has destructive effects on the safety of the citizens. In particular, the streets near the venue of the event could be blockaded or temporarily operated, which poses traffic security. Even worse, the main roads become congested and have a risk of traffic accidents. Despite the aforementioned shortcomings, I still believe that the former brings about merits. The most pertinent point is that the nation hosts global sports events that allow them to enhance its image and prestige in the international arenas. To be elaborate, the country has opportunities to reach a large audience, sponsors, and the global media. In the long run, this could help increase awareness of the country ’s culture, tourist attractions, products, and services among the international community. Another justification is that this practice is able to engender a joyful, and united atmosphere within the community. Specifically, civilians sometimes welcome such events by organizing related activities such as sports festivals, gatherings, and cultural and entertainment programs. In reality, in Vietnam, hosting major sporting events such as SEA Games has attracted thousands of individuals to participate and cheer, and after the event, football fans storm through the streets to celebrate. In conclusion, it is indisputable that the organization of global sports tournaments poses financial burdens, and the safety of the hosting country. Nonetheless, I still reckon that the former has more benefits than the latter, as not only would this event demonstrate the value of that country in the worldwide market but also show the residents’ solidarity.