In some countries, the role of a mother differs in some ways from the role of a father. Why do you think these differences exist? How might parental roles develop in the future?

It’s clear that there are obvious differences existing between the role of a mother and the role of a father in some societies. Several aspects should be taken into consideration when it comes to the reasons that lead to this phenomenon. In addition, parents are supposed to play more reasonable roles in the future. There’s no doubt that different gender roles result in parents distinct division of labour. For example, mothers are regarded as those who should shoulder the housework and take good care of their children in some countries, while fathers are supposed to earn money and provide their children guidance in significant affairs like education and career. Despite the influence of gender stereotypes and cultural background, parents may reach an agreement on how to educate their kids at the beginning. For instance, a couple may decide that during the development of their child, the mother tends to be a patient teacher whereas the father plays a role of a strict coach. With the development of gender equality and the enhancement of women’s education, the gap between parents roles will be narrowed gradually and the division of labour among family members will be more flexible than before. For example, women have been economically independent and have the ability to earn a living for their families, which means they are able to play roles of breadwinners instead of housekeepers. Conventional wisdom about parental roles has changed as well. It is acceptable for fathers to leave their job and raise children at home at present. In conclusion, parents in some cultures have divergent parenting styles due to the impact of conventional ideas and subjective negotiation. However, with the improvement of women’s social status and income, both parents will have access to work remotely and participate equally in child care in the future.