Some people argue that all experimentation on animals is bad and should be outlawed. However, others believe that important scientific discoveries can be made from animal experiments. Can experimentation on animals be justified? Are there any alternatives?

Over the past few decades, there has been a tremendous increase in the number of experiments conducted on animals. While some people strongly oppose this as it is cruel, others believe important knowledge can be gained from such studies. This essay will attempt to justify these actions and provide alternatives. To begin, there is an argument to be made that results obtained from experiments performed on animals are accurate. This is because the anatomy and physiology of certain creatures are similar to human beings. For instance, research directed towards the invention of drugs that cure cancer is majorly conducted on chimpanzees, because they precisely predict adverse drug reactions and the potency of the drug As a result, scientists prefer to study these animals in detail to obtain critical information which will accelerate the development of health care and contribute to the mankind. On the other hand, to tackle this cruel behaviour, clinical trials could be conducted on consensual patients. This includes patients suffering from diseases which currently do not have a reliable cure. Often these patients are not covered by their insurance and have no monetary means to look after themselves. Therefore, hospitals could provide these individuals with an opportunity to be treated. Additionally, these experiments are funded by the government. By doing this, the scientists have ideal conditions for experimentation and sick patients have access to health care. In conclusion, although experiments on biological creatures are cruel, they are supported by accurate results. However, alternate methods such as clinical trials in hospitals could be used to yield the same results. Thus, responsibly handling this sensitive concern will prove to be beneficial in the future.