Fossil fuels (e.g., coals, oil and gas) are the main sources of energy for most countries. However, alternative sources of energy (e.g., Wind and solar power) have been encouraged for use by some countries. To what extent is this a positive or negative development?

Recent years have witnessed significant investigations into renewable energy sources. Even though traditional fuel sources, such as coal and oil, play a dominant role in the majority of nations, some specific countries have already promoted the usage of sustainable energy. From my perspective, this development is largely beneficial to the public as it can deal with the existing problems. It is undeniable that burning fossil fuels to generate energy is detrimental to this planet. To begin with, when people use non-renewable resources, there will be a huge number of gas emissions, thereby leading to global warming; consequently, it will even be followed by sea-level rise, which in turn causes damage to coastal regions and disrupts the balance in the ecosystem. Apart from that, the quantity of fossil fuels is extremely limited. Provided that people continuously rely on those non-renewable resources, they will be exhausted in the foreseeable future. In that case, the world will inevitably be stuck in a period of economic stagnation, due to the insufficiency of available resources. However, opting for alternative sources of energy like wind and solar power can mitigate those thorny issues. Firstly, the promotion of renewable energy will allow the public to replace carbon-intensive energy sources and remarkably reduce people's daily carbon footprints. Only in this way can the masses tackle global warming effectively, since we can nip the culprits in the bud. Additionally, renewable sources seem to be inexhaustible, as abundant natural resources (e.g., strong wind and fast-moving water) can provide a vast and constantly replenished supply of energy. Even with potential constraints taken into consideration, sustainable energy can still meet individuals' living demands. In conclusion, as emerging alternative sources can benefit modern citizens in various ways, I firmly believe that this development will be a blessing to society.