Smoking tobacco is becoming increasingly popular among young people with potentially serious effects on their health. Explain some reasons for this problem and suggest some possible solution.

In recent years, cigarette consumption in adolescents has grown, consequently increasing the chances of developing health-related issues. This essay will be reviewing some possible sources of this problem as well as methods to prevent it. One possible reason for this occurrence is that smoking is highly prominent in several aspects of media, such as the Internet, films and social media. Generally, it is portrayed in a likeable matter, with some even saying it is notably glorified. As a result of this, children often pick up this habit out of the notion that it is interesting and will possibly result in enthusiastic comments from peers. Furthermore, when it comes to peers, often it is close relatives and friends that introduce smoking to each other. A major percentage of adults consume tobacco, thus children often are exposed to this habit at a very young age by caretakers. As they are impressionable and inquisitive about their surroundings, they are likely to mimic the behaviour. For example, surveys conducted by the University of Colorado in local secondary educational institutions in 2009 suggested that children with parents that were heavy smokers were inclined by more than 65% to develop smoking as a habit. Parents should be more cautious when indulging in such activities around adolescents as one way to prevent this issue from arising. Additionally, not only should children be discouraged by guardians to not partake, but also be appropriately lectured on the manner. Another way to possibly counteract smoking in adolescents is to encourage and further apply more lectures on the topic in educational institutions. Although there exist already a large number of lessons opposing this topic, there is not enough variety and a suitable approach. This subject should adequately and inclusively be brought up which will lead to more awareness and knowledge on the detrimental effects of tobacco consumption. As a result of this, fewer pupils will be acknowledging it as a sociable habit or exciting hobby and rather as an unnecessary addiction. To conclude, the growth of tobacco use among younger people is due to inappropriate exposure, usually presented as acceptable and even favourable. However, this has a majorly adverse effect on health which can only be combated by raising awareness and discouragement both in media and by the people that surround us, especially parents and educators.