Today food travels thousands of miles from the fram to the consumers. What are the reasons? Is it a positive or a negative trend?

There is no denying the fact that, nowadays, due to the exponential growth of modernization and international business, people are able to locate desired items of their need everywhere around the world. Especially, the food industry has taken a major step, and consumers living internationally can easily find their local brands at place and time. This essay will highlight both the merits and demerits associated with this trend. To begin with, on the one hand, growing food supplies have been benefitting millions around the globe. From the manufacturers to its distributors, everyone involved in its supply chain is leveraging its expansion. International business has made foodie's lives a haven by making the availability of local brands at an international level. According to the report of Business Times, an English journal, global trade of foodstuffs has soared nearly two hundred times during the last decade. Therefore, the refreshment business is generating revenue and spreading happiness to food lovers at the same time. On the other hand, although this growth has positively impacted the lives of many but has also equally produced negative consequences. Packed stuff comes with a huge amount of added preservatives and people have no quality control over the unknown brands, due to the availability of numerous companies, individuals at times do not know which variety they should go for. Hence, this gives birth to health issues. For instance, a recent survey in Vancouver, Canada conducted by a local NGO, highlighted the locals concern over the mass presence of food items, which is adversely impacting their health and eating habits. To conclude, without a doubt, food is one of the most important commodities and its importance as per individual's likes and dislikes may not be overlooked. Even though many good businesses are also ethically trading refreshments globally, however, there are many illegal brands, that are not following specifications as per the government food standards, making this business polluted and ultimately leading to health implications.