What are the advantages and disadvantages of using CCTV cameras to fight crime?

In order to curb the rate of crime, the installation of CCTV cameras is becoming increasingly common. In my opinion, even though there are several possible disadvantages to this trend, its benefits are far outweighing the drawbacks. In the forthcoming paragraphs, I will discuss both of these views. On the one hand, installing CCTV is very beneficial for law enforcement to gain evidence from a suspect of a crime. To incarcerate a suspect of a crime, one of the difficult tasks that police must do is to prove that someone is guilty because one can easily make an alibi and refuse the allegation towards him or her. Giving evidence is one of the ways to prove the guilt of a suspect of a crime, and using CCTV is well known as one of the reliable sources that law enforcement can rely on. CCTV can record and depict the crime scene which can support police to put someone in jail. Furthermore, it can deter crime by making people aware that they are being monitored. On the other hand, one of the drawbacks of security equipment is that it could emerge with trust issues among the member of a neighbourhood. In addition to that, CCTV is not yet widely adopted worldwide. In some rural areas in Indonesia for example, where the society is bonded with trust in each other, if there is a household that installs CCTV, it could lead the neighbourhood to feel offended because this could be translated as distrust to the people in the community. Conclusively, this surveillance system using CCTV sometimes is not reliable in all circumstances and locations. In conclusion, there are some drawbacks to installing CCTV, especially in rural areas. The advantages that CCTV could provide to reduce the crime rate, especially in urban areas are stronger than the disadvantages.