People can live and work anywhere they want to choose because of improved communication technology and transport. Do the advantages of this development outweigh disadvantages?

There is no denying the fact that the main impact of automation and transportation is arguable. While it is a commonly held belief that inhabitants may live or be employed in any job in any area because of the evolution of machinery and transportation. This essay will shed light upon both merits and demerits of such a trend and will draw my own beliefs. There are masses who argue that the benefits of the growth in automation to let folks live wherever they want considerably outweigh its disadvantages. The main reason for believing this is that the masses might become less worrying about the prices of homes. For instance, folks might feel more comfortable about the rent of a home as the prices will go down when individuals rent far from the city, and can commute to work using public transportation. Subsequently, paying less for accommodation may decrease many burdens for people especially these days with the increasing number of responsibilities such as paying a mortgage or credit cards. Thus, it becomes apparent that such progression in automation can provide folks with a variety of choices. However, others believe that there are immensely various disadvantages to this trend. To embark, some employees might face a problem if there is an issue with transportation, they might be late for their work, in contrast, also in case of an emergency, those individuals might find it troublesome to commute back home. As a consequence, the folks might lose time as they live far from their apartment. Indeed, this makes it clear that despite the evolution in machinery but still the masses may still face a problem with commuting time, especially in case of emergency. In conclusion, both arguments have their merits. On balance, however, I consider the advantages of the expansion in machinery and transportation extremely more than its demerits. This is because the masses might save lots of money.