Some people think that only the goverment can make significant changes in society while others think that individuals can have a lot of influence. What is your opinion?

Nowadays, it is commonly believed that only the government can make global changes in society, while some people think that each person can make a huge impact in our world. Personally, I would say that rules written by the government are more valuable than actions made by individuals. This essay will discuss both of these thoughts and include some examples. On the one hand, the government creates laws to make people's lives better. Most of the laws were aimed to increase the wealth and level of happiness of each resident in a country. Furthermore, the government is a controlling institution which able to predict and tackle problems in society. For instance, the New Zealand government published a law that forbids selling cigarettes to customers who were born after 2013. This decision completely change situation with young smokers and whole health issues caused by cigarettes. On the other hand, individuals think only about their own profit and sometimes forget about others. Huge number of people are following celebrities and don't have personal opinions about some aspects of life and just replicate behavior and civil position of favorite influencers. For example, Elon Musk`s fan base has wrong imaginations about history and even Ukrainian-Russian war because of incorrect political views of well-known and rich individual Elon Musk. To sum up, I would say that I completely share the opinion that governments make more influence than a single person. Also, in my opinion acts made by the government are more useful and were made with good intentions.